There once was this farm stand, Two Fruits

Well, sometime in the future when Mike wins the lottery, (he is one of our fabulous customers) he wants to have his own vegetable and fruit stand called “Two Fruits”.  Well this leads me to our latest in our spring orders.  I am working on the fruit order for spring.

There is a lot to consider when I am making our orders. I need to have enough on hand to make it interesting for our customers, I need to have interesting and easy to grow plants.  Since I managed a pick-your-own for a few years, I know a little bit about fruit.  When I was a little girl, my grandfather started working on his 4 acre orchard. He had apple trees in his yard instead of maple trees, gooseberries to border the vegetable garden.  So, I grew up taking care of and eating fresh fruit.

So, while I am making these orders for our spring fruit, I am thinking back to when I was a kid hanging out with my Grandpa Beckley eating gooseberries right from the bush.  What I don’t remember was the thorns on those bushes.  A fresh gooseberry tastes like the summers of my childhood.  A little sweet and a lot tart, skin thinner than a grape but has a stripe like a miniature watermelon.  Yep, those were the days but now this is this day and I have to get those orders done.

Well, I am sure you want to know what I picked out?   Golden, Red, & Black Raspberries, Arapaho & Navaho blackberries, a newer variety of Blueberries that has a lot of promise called Reka.  Figs, I picked Celeste which we have carried before.  But there is a variety that looks interesting Hardy Chicago which is for zones 6-10. (We are zone 6)  Apples, Peaches, Cherries are in there as well.

If you don’t have a lot of space then you will definitely want to check out the multi-grafted Apples, Pears, and Cherries we will have.  You can grow them in a container or plant them in your landscape.  Come summer, you will definitely be enjoying the fruits of your labor.

Leave a Reply

